BEHIND THE SHEET

by Charly Evon Simpson

 

May 8th at 4:00 pm PT / 6:00 pm CT / 7:00 pm ET.

 

Join us as we introduce a live virtual reading of Charly Evon Simpson's off-Broadway Production of Behind the Sheet, directed by Colette Robert. Charly Evon Simpson confronts the history of a great medical breakthrough by telling the forgotten story of a community of enslaved black women who involuntarily enabled the discovery. In 1840s Alabama, Philomena assists a doctor - her owner - as he performs experimental surgeries on her fellow slave women, trying to find a treatment for the painful post-childbirth complications known as fistulas. Reframing the origin story of modern gynecology, Behind the Sheet tells how these women supported each other, and questions who, and what, history remembers.

 
directed by Colette Robert
 
featuring Stephen James Anthony, Nia Calloway, Bjorn DuPaty, Naomi Lorrain, Cristina Pitter, Joel Ripka, Megan Tusing, Amber Reauchean Williams, & Jehan O. Young
 
Stage Directions: Sifiso Mabena
 
Stage Manager: Fran Acuña-Almiron

 

 

 

This event will be broadcast on Zoom. We'll email the Zoom link to you on May 6th with an event reminder.

 

Photo by Jeremy Daniel.

 

Behind the Sheet by Charly Evon Simpson Virtual Live Reading on May 8th

$25.00Price
  • Saturday, May 8, 2021

    4:00 pm PT / 6:00 pm CT / 7:00 pm ET

    Please join this peformance L I V E on the Zoom video platform. A recording will not be available after the live performance.